Welcome To PackerChatters.com

The Original Packers Fan Site And Forum

Packers Radio Network

The Packers Radio Network is a broadcast radio network and the official radio broadcaster of the Green Bay Packers football team. The network's flagship is Journal Communications' WTMJ (AM) in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, which has broadcast the games since November 24, 1929.This is one of the few arrangements where a team's flagship radio station is not based in their home market and the local station serves as a network affiliate only; the rights for Packers games in the Green Bay area have bounced between Midwest Communications and Cumulus Media throughout the last few years, while stations carrying the games owned by Woodward Communications which nominally serve the Fox Cities exclusively have equally heavy listener-ship in Green Bay.

The Green Bay stations designated below in the table are considered additional "primary" stations in the network. This designation only truly comes to use in the later stages of the NFL Playoffs if the Packers make it to the NFC Championship Game and the Super Bowl, where those primary stations can carry the Packers Radio Network local call. All other network stations, including those in the Fox Cities, must carry the national Westwood One call instead in line with NFL rules.

Its primary programming consists of broadcasts of Packer home and away games to a network of 56 stations in Wisconsin, the U.P., Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota, along with a two-hour pre-game show and three-hour post-game show which allows listeners to call in a sports talk format about the finished game. Wayne Larrivee has been the play-by-play announcer since 1999, while former Packer center and current WFRV-TV sports director Larry McCarren has worked as the color commentator since 1995.

Though its broadcasts began in 1929, WTMJ did not begin paying the Packers for broadcast rights until 1943; it paid the team $7500 to broadcast the season. In the early 1930s, there was no exclusive right given to broadcast games, and WHBY in Green Bay often sent its own announcers to call the game. From 1933 to 1936, three additional stations carried WTMJ's radio broadcasts of Packer games: WLBL in Stevens Point, WTAQ in Green Bay and WKBH in La Crosse. WSAW in Wausau and WJMS in Ironwood, Michigan started carrying the feed in 1937.


    WTMJ 620 AM Milwaukee (flagship station)

    WRLO 105.3 FM Antigo
    WHBY 1150 AM Appleton
    WAPL 105.7 FM Appleton
    WATW 1400 AM Ashland
    WBSZ 93.3 FM Ashland
    WBDL 102.9 FM Baraboo
    WXRO 95.3 FM Beaver Dam
    WJMQ 92.3 FM Clintonville
    WBIZ 1400 AM Eau Claire
    WBIZ 100.7 FM Eau Claire
    KFIZ 1450 AM Fond du Lac
    WFON 107.1 FM Fond du Lac
    WFAW 940 AM Fort Atkinson
    WTAQ 1360 AM Green Bay (local primary station for network)
    WTAQ-FM 97.5 FM Town of Glenmore/Green Bay (local primary station for network)
    WIXX 101.1 FM Green Bay (local primary station for network)
    WRLS 92.3 FM Hayward
    WCLO 1230 AM Janesville
    WJVL 99.9 FM Janesville
    WKTY 580 AM La Crosse
    WGLR-FM 97.7 FM Lancaster
    WIBA 1310 AM Madison
    WIBA-FM 101.5 FM Madison
    WOMT 1240 AM Manitowoc
    WMAM 570 AM Marinette
    WLST 95.1 FM Marinette
    WKEB 99.3 FM Medford
    WCQM 98.3 FM Park Falls
    WQPC 94.3 FM Prairie du Chien
    WCYE 93.7 FM Rhinelander
    WJMC-FM 96.1 FM Rice Lake
    WRCO-FM 100.9 FM Richland Center
    WEVR 1550 AM River Falls
    WEVR-FM 106.3 FM River Falls
    WTCH 960 AM Shawano
    WHBL 1330 AM Sheboygan
    WXCX 105.7 FM Siren
    WCOW 97.1 FM Sparta
    WSAU-FM 99.9 FM Stevens Point
    WQDC 97.7 FM Sturgeon Bay
    WDSM 710 AM Superior
    WDUX-FM 92.7 FM Waupaca
    WSAU 550 AM Wausau
    WAUH 102.3 FM Wautoma
    WHTL 102.3 FM Whitehall


    WGLQ 97.1 FM Escanaba
    WOBE 100.7 FM Iron Mountain
    WIKB-FM 99.1 FM Iron River
    WIMI 99.7 FM Ironwood
    WRUP 98.3 FM Marquette (starting 2013)


    KLBB 1220 AM Stillwater

South Dakota

    KSOO 1140 AM Sioux Falls